Every state has its driving laws and Virginia is no different.
If you want to want to avoid tickets and keep yourself, as well as everyone around you safe, then you need to know the traffic laws. When every driver on the road understands what the local driving laws are, then the likelihood of catastrophic accidents goes way down.
Here in Virginia, things have changed drastically. It can be tough to stay on top of these laws, but that’s why we’re here today. In this post, we’re going to examine five Virginia driving laws so that you’ll feel comfortable and confident next time you get behind the wheel.
1. Banned Cell Phones
House Bill 874, one of the important driving laws passed in 2020, prohibits any cell phone use of any kind while you’re driving. Before, the law stated that any typing or reading on a device was banned, but now just having it in your hand will earn you a ticket.
The fines for non-compliance are $125 dollars for a first offense and $250 for a second, but there are also some exemptions. If you’re legally parked or stopped, then you may use your phone. Emergency vehicle drivers are also exempt from this law.
2. Reckless Driving
Another change from the old driving laws over the last few years is the speed limit on Virginian highways, going from 65 to 70 MPH. What was also affected by this change was the definition of reckless driving, which has gone from 80 to 85 MPH.
Despite these new limits, a driver caught between 81 and 85 MPH will receive a $100 fine and anyone going more than 20 MPH over the speed limit is technically driving recklessly.
3. Fines and Suspensions
New driving laws have limited the department of motor vehicles from some of its suspending power. No longer can a driver that has failed to pay outstanding fines or court costs because of a conviction have their license suspended.
This also works retroactively, so anyone who has had their license suspended for this reason will have it reinstated by the DMV.
4. Photo Speed Monitoring
To protect children and workers all over Virginia’s cities, photo monitoring is now being used in school zones and work sites. If you’re caught going 10 MPH over the speed limit in a marked school or work zone, you’ll receive a ticket in the mail.
5. Drivers and Cyclists
One of the traffic laws that has gone into effect just this year is to lower the number of automobile/bicycle accidents in Virginia. Sharing the road is the best thing for everyone, so drivers are required to give at least 3 feet of clearance when passing cyclists.
This one also works both ways. When being passed, cycling parties are required to move in single file to give the cars room to get by.
Follow the Virginia Driving Laws to Stay Safe
Now that you understand some of the new and important Virginia driving laws, you can do your part to make the roads and highways safer. It’s important to understand traffic laws so that you don’t incur any huge fines, but also to keep your fellow drivers, pedestrians, and cyclists safe out there.
If you enjoyed this post, come back for more helpful legal articles.