Injured in Sacramento auto accident? Check these aspects

Thousands of vehicles ply the roads of California. Sacramento is a busy area, and most residents rely on their cars to get around. On-road mishaps are common in the state, and if you were injured in Sacramento in an auto accident, it would help if you knew the state laws. In this post, we are sharing more on key aspects and why you should get an attorney for your case. 

Basic state laws related to auto accidents

  1. As you may know, there is always a deadline for filing a lawsuit when someone has wronged you in some manner. In California, you have two years to file a civil lawsuit against the driver responsible for the accident. The same deadline applies to wrongful death claims. If you want to sue for vehicle damage, you have to take action within three years. Note that the deadline starts from the date of mishap (or death) and is not related to third-party insurance claims. 
  2. California has claimant-friendly rules and follows the pure comparative negligence norm. Even if you had a contribution to causing the accident, you could seek compensation from the other at-fault side. However, your settlement would depend on the fault share. For example – You successfully sued the other party and won $200,000 in a settlement but were also found 60% at fault. As per the pure comparative negligence law, you would only get $80,000 as the final settlement. 

Do you need an auto accident lawyer?

The short answer is yes. Hiring an attorney is not mandatory or legally necessary to file an auto accident claim or lawsuit in Sacramento. However, hiring an attorney has its own benefits. Firstly, your lawyer will take the stress associated with negotiating with the insurance company so that you can focus on your recovery. They will also explain your legal options, if you should file a civil lawsuit, and would ensure that you know the laws. A good attorney knows what it takes to evaluate auto accident claims and would work on the legal strategy accordingly. If you are worried about the costs, just remember that your lawyer only gets a fee when you win. That’s the norm with auto accident lawyers and is called a contingency fee. 

Don’t delay calling an attorney, and make sure that you inform the police immediately after the auto accident. You should also gather as much info as possible to ensure that your lawyer has the best possible support to work on the case. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s